U.S. Faster Payments Council Introduces 2023 Board of Directors

For Immediate Release

June 14, 2023 – The U.S. Faster Payments Council (FPC), a membership organization devoted to advancing safe, easy-to-use faster payments in the United States, today announced the results of the 2023 election for its Board of Directors. In this year’s election, FPC members voted in directors who will continue to champion the FPC’s core values of inclusiveness and fairness; flexibility and responsiveness; and transparency in decision-making. 

The FPC Board of Directors is comprised of industry leaders from financial institutions, technology providers, business end users, payment network operators, consultants, payments associations, and consumer advocacy groups. The Board is accountable to the FPC members and assumes the critical responsibility of providing strategic guidance, fostering collaboration, and ensuring processes, activities, and recommendations are consistent with the organization’s fundamental principles.

Six senior executives serving three-year terms will be seated as FPC Board Directors on July 1, 2023, including one current Director who will return to the Board for another term and five Directors who are new to the FPC Board. Two additional executives will be seated as FPC At-Large Board Directors and will serve one-year terms, including one current Director and one Director new to the Board.

“We are thrilled to announce the exceptional lineup of the 2023 FPC Board of Directors. This accomplished group of leaders represents a wide array of perspectives and expertise, ensuring a holistic approach to driving faster payments innovation and adoption,” said FPC Board Chairperson Michael Bilski. “I’d also like to extend our appreciation to the directors who will be stepping off the Board for their invaluable contributions, unwavering commitment, and leadership that has been instrumental in shaping the FPC’s vision and driving the progress we have achieved thus far.”

The six new Directors who will join the FPC Board include:

  • Jim Colassano, SVP, RTP Product Management, The Clearing House
  • Liz Garner Divelbiss, Head of Strategic Insights & Partnerships, CMSPI
  • Joshua Karoly, Director, Payments Product, Netflix
  • Todd Koehn, VP, Faster Payments Solutions, Bankers’ Bank
  • Booshan Rengachari, Founder and CEO, Finzly
  • Peter Tapling, Managing Director, PTap Advisory, LLC

The two returning FPC Board Directors re-elected to new terms include:

  • Beverly Kennedy, Executive Director, JPMorgan Chase Merchant Services
  • Adam Rust, Senior Policy Advisor, National Community Reinvestment Coalition

“This year’s FPC Board brings together industry leaders who are passionate about the future of faster payments for all,” said FPC Executive Director Reed Luhtanen. “As the Faster Payments Council approaches its momentous five-year anniversary, we are energized by the momentum we have gained in just five years and the opportunities ahead of us to further advance faster payments in the United States. Our Board, along with our entire FPC membership, will continue to play a pivotal role in achieving our vision of ubiquitous faster payments.”

                             U.S. Faster Payments Council Board of Directors 2023-2024

Business End Users
  • Joshua Karoly, Netflix (term ends 2026)
  • Matt Howarter, Walmart Inc. (term ends 2025)
  • Perry Starr, Target Corporation (term ends 2024)
Consumer Organizations
  • Adam Rust, National Community Reinvestment Coalition (term ends 2026)
  • Gail Hillebrand, National Consumers League (term ends 2025)
  • Cathy Lesser Mansfield, National Consumer Law Center (term ends 2024)
Financial Institutions
  • Todd Koehn, Bankers’ Bank (term ends 2026)
  • Michael Bilski, North American Banking Company (term ends 2025)
  • Sumit Arora, Wells Fargo Bank, N.A. (term ends 2025)
  • Open seat (special election to fill in July 2023)
  • Liz Garner Divelbiss, CMSPI (term ends 2026)
  • Steve Mott, BetterBuyDesign (term ends 2025)
  • Steve Kenneally, American Bankers Association (term ends 2024)
  • Peter Tapling, PTap Advisory, LLC (term ends 2024)
Payment Network Operators
  • Jim Colassano, The Clearing House (term ends 2026)
  • Lisa Akahoshi, Visa (term ends 2025)
  • Robert Lewis, Open Payment Network (term ends 2024)
Technology Providers
  • Booshan Rengachari, Finzly (term ends 2026)
  • Elspeth Bloodgood, Jack Henry (term ends 2025)
  • Kevin Christensen, SHAZAM (term ends 2024)
  • Beverly Kennedy, JPMorgan Chase Merchant Services (term ends 2024)

Elizabeth Grice 
U.S. Faster Payments Council                             
About the U.S. Faster Payments Council (FPC)
The FPC is an industry-led membership organization whose vision is a world-class payment system where Americans can safely and securely pay anyone, anywhere, at any time and with near-immediate funds availability. By design, the FPC encourages a diverse range of perspectives and is open to all stakeholders in the U.S. payment system. Guided by principles of fairness, inclusiveness, flexibility and transparency, the FPC uses collaborative, problem-solving approaches to resolve the issues that are inhibiting broad faster payments adoption in this country. For more information, please visit FasterPaymentsCouncil.org.

Go Back