U.S. Faster Payments Council Announces 2022 Board of Directors and Officers

For Immediate Release

June 7, 2022 – The U.S. Faster Payments Council (FPC), a membership organization devoted to advancing safe, easy-to-use faster payments in the United States, today released the results of the 2022 election for its Board of Directors. In this year’s election, FPC members voted in directors who embody the FPC’s core values of inclusiveness and fairness; flexibility and responsiveness; and transparency in decision-making. 

The FPC Board is accountable to the members for setting the organization’s strategic direction and ensuring processes, activities, and recommendations are consistent with its fundamental principles. In addition, the Board is responsible for ensuring the views of all segments are heard during deliberations at the Board, committee, and work group levels.

Seven senior executives were seated as FPC Board Directors on June 1, 2022, and will serve three-year terms, including five current Directors who will return to the Board for another term and two Directors who are new to the FPC Board. Two additional executives were seated as FPC At-Large Board Directors on June 6, 2022, and will serve one-year terms, including one current Director and one Director new to the Board.

Additionally, for 2022, Michael Bilski, North American Banking Company, will continue as Board Chairperson, and the Board of Directors elected Matt Howarter, Walmart as Vice Chairperson, and Rusiru Gunasena, Jack Henry as Secretary/Treasurer.

“We are pleased to be welcoming our new and returning directors to the Board during this exciting time at the FPC as we drive our strategy forward and reach important milestones,” said Bilski. “It’s an honor to continue to lead this committed and passionate group of experts who each provide valuable perspectives on the faster payments landscape. I’d also like to thank the group of directors who will be stepping off the Board for their numerous contributions and unfettered dedication to the FPC’s mission.”

The three Directors who recently joined the FPC Board are Gunasena as well as:
  • Sumit Arora, Wells Fargo Bank, N.A.
  • Deborah Baxley, PayGility Advisors
In addition to Bilski and Howarter, the returning FPC Board Directors re-elected to new terms are:
  • Matt Friend, Visa
  • Gail Hillebrand, National Consumers League
  • Beverly Kennedy, JPMorgan Chase Merchant Services
  • Steve Mott, BetterBuyDesign, LLC
“This is the most diverse Board in the FPC’s history, and its collective expertise will help us take significant steps toward our goal of a future of faster payments for all,” said FPC Executive Director Reed Luhtanen. “Our Board leadership represents all segments of the payments ecosystem, provides unique viewpoints, and they are unified on the FPC’s mission and strategy. I look forward to working closely with them and our members to advance and evolve faster payments during this pivotal time in the industry.”

                                              U.S. Faster Payments Council Board of Directors 2022-2023

Business End-Users
  • Matt Howarter, Walmart Inc. (term ends 2025)
  • Perry Starr, Target Corporation (term ends 2024)
  • Stuart Dwyer, Microsoft (term ends 2023)
Consumer Organizations
  • Gail Hillebrand, National Consumers League (term ends 2025)
  • Cathy Lesser Mansfield, National Consumer Law Center (term ends 2024)
  • Adam Rust, National Community Reinvestment Coalition (term ends 2023)
Financial Institutions
  • Michael Bilski, North American Banking Company (term ends 2025)
  • Sumit Arora, Wells Fargo Bank, N.A. (term ends 2025)
  • Charles Harkness, Corporate One Federal Credit Union (term ends 2024)
  • Open seat (special election to fill in June 2022)
  • Steve Mott, BetterBuyDesign (term ends 2025)
  • Steve Kenneally, American Bankers Association (term ends 2024)
  • John Drechny, Merchant Advisory Group (term ends 2023)
  • Deborah Baxley, PayGility Advisors (term ends 2023)
Payment Network Operators
  • Matt Friend, Visa (term ends 2025)
  • Steve Ledford, The Clearing House (term ends 2023)
  • Open seat (special election to fill in June 2022)
Technology Providers
  • Rusiru Gunasena, Jack Henry (term ends 2025)
  • Kevin Christensen, SHAZAM (term ends 2024)
  • Kim Ford, Fiserv (term ends 2023)
  • Beverly Kennedy, JPMorgan Chase Merchant Services (term ends 2023)
Elizabeth Grice 
U.S. Faster Payments Council                             
About the U.S. Faster Payments Council (FPC)
The FPC is an industry-led membership organization whose vision is a world-class payment system where Americans can safely and securely pay anyone, anywhere, at any time and with near-immediate funds availability. By design, the FPC encourages a diverse range of perspectives and is open to all stakeholders in the U.S. payment system. Guided by principles of fairness, inclusiveness, flexibility and transparency, the FPC uses collaborative, problem-solving approaches to resolve the issues that are inhibiting broad faster payments adoption in this country. For more information, please visit FasterPaymentsCouncil.org.

Go Back